Lebanon Joins Earth Hour for the First Time

Earth Hour 2011 has reached record participation, with 131 countries and territories registered to switch off and did. Many countries officially joining in for the first time, including: Lebanon, Jamaica, Iran, Uganda, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Chad, Azerbaijan, Gibraltar, Palestine, Suriname, Uzbekistan, Trinidad & Tobago and Lesotho.

Switching off the lights is just the beginning of a year-long commitment to the planet. You’ve already shared thousands of inspiring stories of how you are going beyond the hour but if you haven’t added yours yet then do it now! And remember to share your act through your social networks or by email to help us inspire more actions for the planet.